Fab Story

US Open 2022

The final Grand Slam of the year, United States Open Tennis Championships(USOTC) takes place in New York City. The tournament is the modern version of the U.S. National Championship, which is the oldest tournament in tennis.

us open 2022

The tournament is administered by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) since 1978. Since then, it has been using Deco Turf cushion acrylic hard courts.

The Arthur Ashe Stadium inside the complex tops in the list of the largest tennis stadiums in the world with a capacity of seating around 24000 spectators.


The total prize money for US Open 2020 was $53.4 million. It is still the richest Grand Slam tennis tournament in history. The men’s and women’s singles champions’ prize money was reduced to $3 million and the runners-up collected cheque of $1.5 million each.

The champions of the US Open tennis tournament are given 2000 ranking points and the ATP finalists collect 1200 ranking points and whereas their WTA counterparts are awarded 1300 points

Daniil Medvedev, 2021 men's singles champion. It was his first Major singles title.

US Open Winners List (ATP) Over The Past 15 Years:

Roger Federer———————– 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Juan Martin del Potro —————2009
Rafael Nadal ————————-2010, 2013, 2017, 2019
Novak Djokovic——————— -2011, 2015, 2018
Andy Murray ————————-2012
Marin Cilic—————————- 2014
Stan Wawrink————————  2016
Dominic Thiem ———————–2020

Where is US Open held?

The tournament is held at Flushing Meadows. The Big Apple City’s major tournament takes place at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center is a stadium complex within Flushing Meadows–Corona, Park in Queens, New York, USA.

US Open Venue:

The stadium was initially named USTA National Tennis Center, and in 2006 it was renamed to honor the 12-time Grand Slam champion and one of the most influential sports persons, Billie Jean King.

Emma Raducanu, 2021 women's singles champion. It was her first Major singles title.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: